PLEASE NOTE: To Protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, I am offering clients the ability to meet, via telephone, Zoom or FaceTime. Please call my office to discuss your options. Watch Video of Attorney Alan Jones addressing the Secretary of State and Lake County Court System Closures.
Alan E. Jones, Attorney at Law

FREE CONSULTATION 866-916-0944

Se Habla Español
Saturday Morning Appointments Upon Request

Alan E. Jones, Attorney at Law

Why you should avoid a first DUI conviction

| Jan 18, 2018 | blog

Penalties for a first DUI conviction in the state of Illinois are harsh. But second convictions? They’re even harsher. This is one of the reasons why you should avoid a first conviction.

While you may assume that you’ll never get a second conviction after experiencing a DUI arrest, it’s important to remember that you’ll be treading on very thin ice.  Nobody plans to be arrested a second time, but it can happen. And the penalties for a second DUI are so harsh in Illinois, you won’t be able to drive for five years if convicted.

With this in mind, if you can simply avoid a first conviction, you will protect yourself from a world of trouble down the line. Naturally, the only sure way to avoid a DUI conviction is to never drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If you’ve already been arrested, however, the second-best thing you can do is hire an experienced and reputable DUI defense lawyer.

Here are the penalties for a first and second DUI conviction in Illinois:

Penalties for a first DUI conviction

  • Class A misdemeanor
  • Driving privileges revoked for a minimum of 1 year (or 2 years if under 21)
  • Suspension of vehicle registration
  • When BAC is .16 or higher, minimum fine of $500 (in addition to other fines and penalties) plus minimum of 100 hours community service

Penalties for a second DUI conviction

  • Class A misdemeanor
  • Imprisonment for a minimum of 5 days or 240 hours of community service
  • Driving privileges revoked for a minimum of 5 years (when second conviction is within 20 years of the first)
  • Suspension of vehicle registration
  • When BAC is .16 or higher, minimum fine of $1,250 (in addition to other fines and penalties) plus imprisonment for a minimum of 2 days

For a first or second DUI conviction, additional fines, imprisonment, and community service will be imposed when DUI convictions are committed while transporting a child under age 16 and/or when an accident inflicting bodily harm results. See the Illinois DUI Fact Book for more information.

Have questions, contact us. We're happy to help

Have questions, contact us. We're happy to help

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Contact Us