A Breath-Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device May Be Required to Save Your License

On Jan. 1, 2009, a law went into effect that changed the driver's license suspension rules for first-time DUI offenders in Illinois. If you are arrested for a first-offense drunk driving and want to be allowed to drive, you will be required to participate in the Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) program and have a breath-alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) installed in your automobile — at your own expense.

If you have been arrested for drunk driving in Lake County, you need an accomplished DUI lawyer to protect your rights. I am attorney Alan E. Jones, and I have been practicing traffic and drunk driving defense for more than 25 years. Call me toll free at 866-916-0944 or contact me online now for a free initial consultation about your rights.

Did You Know That Illinois Can Order You to Install — And Pay For — A Breath-Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device in Your Car?

The requirement to get an ignition interlock device applies to people who have been arrested for a first drunk driving offense, which is usually charged as misdemeanor DUI. Its purpose is to prevent alcohol abuse and multiple DUI offenses.

As in the past, if you arrested for a first drunk driving offense, your driver's license is automatically suspended unless you challenge that suspension. Now, if you are allowed to retain your driver's license, it will be on the condition that you install an ignition interlock device in each of your cars at your own expense.

Before you can start your car, you will have to blow into the device, which performs a breath alcohol test. If your blood alcohol content registers at .025 or higher, the ignition interlock device will not allow your car to start.

Each ignition interlock device costs about $80 in monthly rent. There is an installation fee of about $100 and an Illinois Secretary of State administrative fee.

In order to drive with an ignition interlock device, you will need to request a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) from the Secretary of State. The ignition interlock device is required merely because you were arrested and either refused or failed a chemical test.

There are additional penalties if you are convicted, including thousands of dollars in fines and possible prison time. A conviction may also affect future employment and insurance rates.

The Time Is Limited to Save Your Driving Privileges

To schedule a free initial consultation with me, DUI defense lawyer Alan E. Jones, contact me online or call my office toll free: 866-916-0944.

Credit Cards Accepted. Flat Fee for Most Cases. Convenient Location in Waukegan.