What if you had one too many at a party and now have a DUI? What if this is your third drunk driving arrest and you are being charged with felony DUI? What if you were not drunk and feel the officer made a mistake? If you do not defend yourself, it does not matter what the circumstances of your DUI were — you could face significant fines and penalties if found guilty of drunk driving.
Arrested for DUI? Time is limited to protect your driving privileges. Don't wait —find out what your rights and options are. For a free initial consultation with me, attorney Alan E. Jones, contact me online or call toll free: 866-916-0944.
Vigorous Defense and Support Through the Entire Process
The primary focus of my entire 25-year career as a criminal defense lawyer has been drunk driving and traffic defense. I am committed to providing experienced, thorough and straightforward defense and to standing up for your rights throughout the entire process.
Providing Misdemeanor and Felony DUI Defense in Lake County, Illinois
I will scrutinize every aspect of the arrest record to determine if there is any reason your drunk driving case should be dismissed or your penalties minimized:
- Was there a violation of your rights at any time during the arrest?
- Did the police officer read you the required warning to motorists?
- Did the officer read you your Miranda rights?
- Was the field test too subjective?
- Was the breath machine properly calibrated?
- Did the police officer have reasonable suspicion to pull you over?
- Did the officer have valid probable cause to arrest you?
If you have been arrested for a second or third DUI or charged with felony DUI, the penalties for a conviction can be harsh, so do not delay.
Time Is of the Essence in DUI Cases
As soon as you are ticketed, two clocks are ticking: the administrative case to take away your license (suspension) and the criminal case (DUI). I can help you with both your administrative suspension and defend you in court on the DUI. If you are a first offender and you refused a Breathalyzer test, your license is automatically suspended for 12 months.
First-time DUI offenders must now apply for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit if they want to enjoy driving privileges during the statutory summary suspension period. The good news is that there is no longer a period of time after your arrest when you cannot have a license at all.
First-Offense DUI in Illinois
A first-offense DUI is usually charged as a misdemeanor, but under certain conditions, even a first offense can be a felony. A class A misdemeanor means the charge carries up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine.
First offenders are often eligible for Court Supervision. Supervision is a disposition of guilt — not a conviction. What is the difference? A conviction mandates a revocation of your driving privileges, while a disposition of guilt does not. Supervision conditions vary, but typically require completing an alcohol evaluation followed by treatment, payment of fines and costs, completion of a Victim Impact Panel, and remaining arrest-free.
Contact Me Now for a Free Initial Consultation
My goal is to protect your rights and your driving privileges to the greatest extent allowed by law. For a free initial consultation, contact me online or call me toll free at 866-916-0944.
Credit Cards Accepted. Flat Fee for Most Cases. Conveniently Located in Waukegan.